5 Questions to Finding YOUR Happy

“Content is contained, happiness disseminated”

Happiness is a strange idea. It’s a measure of wellbeing and an emotion that brings joy. Yet it seems so difficult to master. What to do when you’re happy is well documented on the internet, media, psychology. But what does it mean to be your kind happy?

There is a lot learn in life. Every day I learn something new. I see and hear something new. Yet, I rarely ‘feel’ something new. Outside of psychology papers, I’ve realized we, individual fall into a pattern of repetition. Work, home, work. Every so often we break that pattern only to introduce a new pattern of repetitions. Work, home, kids, work, home. We become a stagnant identity in our minds which we then try to protect. Hobbies, people, new places often break the melancholy and give us a glimpse of

There is a lot learn in life. Every day I learn something new. I see and hear something new. Yet, I rarely ‘feel’ something new.  I’ve realised we individuals fall into a pattern of repetition. Work, home, work. Every so often we break that pattern only to introduce a new pattern of repetitions. Work, home, kids, work, home. We become a stagnant identity in our minds which we then try to protect. Hobbies, people, new places often break the melancholy and give us a glimpse of something out of our ordinary routine.

I’m no expert (yet) but for the first time in my life I fell into a routine and then promptly forgot how to be happy. I was content, no doubt- my friends were great, my family supportive, my grades were great and yet, when I went home, the usual happiness gave way to a new idea of contentment. I had learned to be content and forgotten to be happy. I was learning new things, yet rarely feeling them.

Happiness is very personal, no doubt, but it’s a shared experience. Contentment is just personal. Living in the United States for the past four years, I was struggling with a new idea of catering just to my needs and trying to balance that with my need to look out for other’s needs. So as a compromise, I’d learnt to be content with who I was, what I had and what my needs were but disregarded being happy and taking time to do those things that made me happy. It took just three weeks at home, two arguments and many conversations to remember that my happiness was in feeling.

Happiness to me was in feeling. Feeling for others, feeling happy, feeling loved, feeling excited. I was happiest when I was feeling something – even if it wasn’t a happy feeling. But different people have different ideas of happy.

And how do you find that? Well, by being true to yourself. Being the way you are, who you are and doing the things that make you feel alive.

Ask yourself –

1. Does it excite you?

2.Does it motivate you?

3.Does it encourage you?

4.Does it thrill you?

And most importantly –

5.Does it feel right?

And if the answer is yes, then well, you just found YOUR happy. Hope this helps you find what makes you happy.

I’ll see you next week, till then let’s be friends on Facebook and Twitter?

Love,

sr

2 Comments

  1. Routine is comfort, but not always happiness. You always need that something to keep you going – maybe just a smile from a stranger or that feeling of satisfaction when you have helped someone…. 😀 happiness sometimes comes in these small doses 😀

    Nice write up .

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.